News & Ideas

ACE Endorses Congressional Action to Enable E15 Sales Year-Round in the House

Sioux Falls, SD (July 14, 2021) – American Coalition for Ethanol (ACE) thanked Representatives Angie Craig (D-MN) and Adrian Smith (R-NE) for their leadership and support in introducing the Year-Round Fuel Choice Act along with Co-Chairs of the Congressional Biofuels Caucus and others. This bipartisan legislation clarifies E15 should be allowed for sale year-round by extending the 1-psi Reid vapor pressure (RVP) waiver to fuel blends containing gasoline and ‘over 10 percent ethanol.’ Following the July 2 D.C. District Court of Appeals’ reversal of the Environmental Protection Agency’s 2019 regulation which extended the RVP waiver to gasoline ‘containing at least 10 percent’ ethanol to E15, ACE CEO Brian Jennings endorses this swift legislative action to address the issue:  

“Given the sense of urgency to ensure uninterrupted availability of E15 year-round in all parts of the country we are enormously grateful for the tremendous leadership of Reps. Craig, Smith and others by introducing this legislation to clarify the statute in the wake of the unfortunate decision from the D.C. Circuit Court. 

“Since 2019, E15 adoption at retail sites has almost doubled with nearly 2500 locations and extending the 1-psi RVP waiver to E15 only makes sense to reflect the realities of today’s motor fuel market and year-over-year track record of successful growth. Without this legislation, it is possible to lose E15 sales next summer which would harm everyone through higher pump prices and greenhouse gas and tailpipe emissions.

“ACE looks forward to continuing to help foster bipartisan support for this legislation while exploring other options to ensure E15, a clean and safe fuel with lower RVP emissions than E10 and straight gasoline, can still be sold next summer.”

Craig and Smith were joined in leading the introduction of the bill by caucus co-chairs Representatives Cindy Axne (D-IA), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Dusty Johnson (R- SD) and Mark Pocan (D-WI). The co-chairs were joined in introducing this legislation by Representatives Randy Feenstra (R-IA), Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE), Jason Smith (R-MO), Cheri Bustos (D-IL), Ashley Hinson (R-IA), Ron Estes (R-KS), Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), Mike Bost (R-IL), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA), Jim Hagedorn (R-MN), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), Jim Baird (R-IN), James Comer (R-KY), Michelle Fishbach (R-MN), Ron Kind (D-WI) and Darin LaHood (R-IL).

Become a Member of the Family.